OHIO CCW PERMIT COURSE
You MUST live in Ohio to take this class in order to obtain your Ohio CCW permit. If you live in Kentucky, you must take the Kentucky CCDW permit course.
NOTE: See the bottom of this page on how to obtain two permits by taking one course.
Course Requirements and Cost:
- You must live in Ohio to apply and receive this permit
- 10 Hours Classroom Training
- 2 Hours Range Training
- Cost is $125 payable on the day of the course by cash or money order.
- You will need 100 rounds of factory ammunition for this course – no reloads.
Ohio law requires at least 10 hours of certified training in the following subject matters:
- The ability to name, explain and demonstrate the rules for safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition;
- The ability to demonstrate and explain how to handle ammunition in a safe manner;
- The ability to demonstrate the knowledge, skills and attitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner;
- Gun-handling training.
At Defensive Handgun Training LLC, the curriculum includes:
- Review booklet, “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law” (produced by the OH Attorney General’s Office)
- Handgun Nomenclature and Function
- Handgun Ammunition
- Fundamentals of Shooting
- Ohio Laws and Statutes (Including Review of Kentucky CCDW Laws)
- Firearm Safety
- Selecting a Handgun
- Ethical Responsibility for Concealed Carry
- Responding to a Violent Confrontation
- Aftermath of a Self-Defense Shooting
- Methods of Concealed Carry
- Use of Deadly Force
- Introduction to Basic Handgun Tactics
- Cleaning your Handgun
- Practical Shooting Qualification Test
- …and much more.
My wife and I recently took Joe’s OH Concealed Carry course and were thoroughly pleased with his teaching methods and the tremendous emphasis he put on safety.
My wife had very little firearms experience and came out of the course with a much better understanding of firearm safety, concealed carry theory and the laws regarding concealed carry. Joe explained the laws in depth and gave practical applications throughout the course.
I have had a concealed carry permit for some time and needed a review. Even though I have some formal firearms training, I learned much from Joe’s instruction and thoroughness.
I highly recommend this course to anyone, whether a “bull’s-eye” shooter or inexperienced novice. Thanks, Joe!
Obtaining two permits for one:
This course also qualifies you to obtain a Florida non-resident concealed carry permit. Most students choose to obtain both the Ohio and Florida permits since the Florida permit is recognized in more states than the Ohio permit. View the information about our Florida permit class to find out more information about obtaining both permits.
Quick links about the Ohio Permit:
Information about renewing your Ohio permit
[ p. 13 of the “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law” publication published by the Ohio Attorney General’s Office ]
Concealed handgun licenses issued prior to March 14, 2007 expire after four years from the date of issue. Licenses issued or renewed after that date expire five years after the date of issuance or renewal.
A certification of competency expires six years after the date of issuance. After the certificate expires, the law requires a licensee to be recertified by a qualified instructor prior to applying to renew a concealed handgun license.
The following example demonstrates the relationship between competency certification and concealed handgun licensing:
June 1, 2007: Person A receives competency certification from a qualified instructor after attending a concealed handgun class. This certification is valid for six years.
July 1, 2007: Person A is granted a license to carry a concealed handgun.
July 1, 2012: Person A renews his or her license using the competency certification received on June 1, 2007.
June 1, 2013: Person A’s competency certification expires. Person A is NOT required to take any action at this point. Person’s A concealed handgun license is not affected by the expiration of this competency certification.
July 1, 2017: Person A’s renewed concealed handgun license expires. Prior to applying for a renewal, Person A is required to be recertified by a qualified instructor. This recertification is good for six years.
The law does NOT require a licensee seeking competency recertification to take a concealed handgun class again. For additional information, see your local sheriff and consult R.C. 2923.125(G)(3) and (4).
A licensee may apply for a renewal of a concealed handgun license no earlier than 90 days prior to the expiration of the license and no more than 30 days after the expiration date.
Additional Information About the Ohio Permit:
- Legally living in the United States
- Resident of Ohio for at least 45 days and a resident of the county of application (or adjacent county) for at least 30 days
- At least 21 years of age
- Not a fugitive from justice
- Not prohibited by federal law from possessing a firearm
- Not under indictment for or otherwise charged with a felony, been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a felony, or ever been adjudicated as a minor for committing an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult
- Never been convicted of or pleaded guilty to an offense that involves illegal possession, use, sale, administration, distribution of or trafficking in a drug of abuse, or have ever been adjudicated as a minor for committing such an act that would be an offense if committed by an adult
- Never been convicted of, or pleaded guilty to, a misdemeanor offense of violence, charge of domestic violence, or a similar offense, in Ohio or any other state
- Never under indictment for, or otherwise charged with, or been convicted of or pleaded guilty to, within three years of the date of your application for a CCW license, a misdemeanor that is an offense of violence or the offense of possessing a revoked or suspended concealed handgun license, or have been adjudicated a delinquent child within three years of the date of your CCW license application, for committing an act that would be a misdemeanor if committed by an adult
- Not under indictment for or otherwise charged with, or have been convicted of or pleaded guilt to, within 10 years of the date of CCW license application, resisting arrest, or have been adjudicated a delinquent child for committing, within 10 years an act that if committed by an adult would be the offense of resisting arrest
- Not under indictment for, or otherwise charged with, assault or negligent assault
- Never been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or adjudicated a delinquent child two or more times for committing assault or negligent assault within 5 years of the date of application
- Never been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or adjudicated a delinquent child for assaulting a police officer
- Never been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or mentally defective; committed to a mental institution, or; involuntarily committed to a mental hospital or facility for purposes other than observation
- Not drug dependent, in danger of being drug dependent, or a chronic alcoholic
- Not currently under the subject of a civil protection order, a temporary protection order, or a protection order issued by a court of this or any other state
- Not currently subject to a suspension imposed under division (A)(2) of section 2923.128 of the Revised Code of a license to carry a concealed handgun or a temporary emergency license to carry a concealed handgun that previously was issued to you