Florida non-resident Concealed Carry Permit
Florida offers the ability for non-residents to obtain a Florida permit. This course makes you eligible to apply for the Florida non-resident permit and we also provide the non-resident applications. Most students attending the Ohio permit course also decide to obtain a Florida permit since it is recognized in more states than the Ohio permit. You can obtain both permits by attending this course with no additional cost to you.
Special Note:This course is taught in the Northern Kentucky area, near Cincinnati, Ohio.
Course Requirements and Cost:
- 10 Hours Classroom Training
- 2 Hours Range Training
- $125.00 for this course, payable in cash or money order on the day of the class.
- You will need 100 rounds of factory ammunition for this course – no reloads.
- Handgun Nomenclature and Function
- Handgun Ammunition
- Fundamentals of Shooting
- Concealed Carry Laws and Statutes
- Firearm Safety
- Selecting a Handgun
- Ethical Responsibility for Concealed Carry
- Responding to a Violent Confrontation
- Aftermath of a Self-Defense Shooting
- Methods of Concealed Carry
- Use of Deadly Force
- Introduction to Basic Handgun Tactics
- Cleaning your Handgun
- Practical Shooting Qualification Test
Quick Links about the Florida CCDW:
Renewal Information about the Florida permit
[ Florida Dept. of Agriculture website ]
Your Florida concealed Weapons or Firearm License is valid for a period of five years. The expiration date appears on the front of your license. Approximately 90 days prior to that date, our Division will automatically send a renewal application to you in the mail to the address that we have on file for you at that time.
It is therefore important that you keep our office informed if you move or change your mailing address. Section 790.06(8), Florida Statutes, requires licensees to inform our office within thirty (30) days of the permanent change of address. If you do not let us know about your address change, you will in all likelihood not receive your renewal license.
If you do change addresses, you must notify our Division of that change in writing. However, you can conveniently submit a change of address online via our website.
If for some reason you fail to renew your license by its expiration date, keep in mind that your Concealed Weapon or Firearm license can be renewed up to six (6) months beyond the expiration date in accordance with section 780.06(11)(a), Florida Statutes. However, there is a late fee of $15.00 for renewing after the expiration date. A concealed weapon license that has been expired for longer than six months cannot be renewed. If you fail to renew within that six-month period after expiration, you will have to apply for a new license.
Additional Information about the Florida permit
- You must be a citizen of the United States OR you must be deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by the US Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS, formerly INS).
- If you are not a citizen of the US, you must submit documentation issued by the USCIS proving your are a permanent legal resident alien who has resided in your state of residence for at least 90 consecutive days prior to the date the application is submitted.
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
Possible Reasons for Ineligibility:
- The physical inability to handle a firearm safely
- A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority)
- Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled
- A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years
- A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws for multiple arrests for such offenses
- A record of drug or alcohol abuse
- Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years
- Being committed to a mental institution or abjudged incompetent or mentally defective
- Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm
- Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force
- Renouncement of U.S. citizenship
- A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces
- Being a fugitive from justice
Detailed explanations of these various disqualifying conditions are provided in the Application for the Concealed Weapon / Firearm License (Defensive Handgun Training has these applications on hand for students who attend this course).